About Self Help Homes

About Self Help Homes

Rural Housing Development Corporation DBA Self-Help Homes is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization in the State of Utah, that is located at:

63 North 400 West
Provo, UT 84601-2748

Office Hours

Office hours are Monday thru Thursday from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm. The office is closed on Fridays.

Mission Statement

The mission of Self-Help Homes is to provide quality affordable housing opportunities to individuals and families living in Utah.

Board of Trustees

Self-Help Homes is run by an Executive Director (Brad Bishop) and staff that operates under the direction of an independent Board of Trustees; six persons that have been appointed and who serve voluntarily. The Self-Help Homes Board of Trustees meets monthly to conduct the Self-Help Home’s business and set policy.

  • Scott McCauley, President
  • John Baer, Vice President
  • Lynell Smith, Secretary-Treasurer
  • AnneMarie Howard, Board Member
  • Carolyn Rasmussen, Board Member

Background and History

Self-Help Homes was initially created as a non-profit arm for the Housing Authority of Utah County (HAUC) to address affordable housing issues in rural Summit, Utah and Wasatch Counties. Self-Help Homes incorporated with the state of Utah in November 1998, and soon thereafter went out on its own as it was designated by Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as a Community Housing Development Organization (CHDO).  Self-Help Homes is a United Way organization and has partnered with multiple non-profit and local, state and federal governments organizations, such as the Housing Assistance Council in Washington DC, Provo City, Utah and Wasatch Counties, the State of Utah, HUD and USDA - Rural Development to complete affordable housing projects. Click here to read Self-Help Homes privacy policy.


The Annual Report for the year ending September 30, 2013 is available and can be viewed by clicking here for the annual report . We also invite you to view our IRS 990 Forms which are available on the GuideStar website.

  • In August 2000, Self-Help Homes received its first funding by the United States Department of Agriculture-Rural Development to build 20 homes through its Mutual Self-Help Housing program.
  • In 2001, Self-Help Homes became a member organization of the United Way.
  • In January 2003, Self-Help Homes expanded its service area to all of Central Utah because of the lack of affordable housing and to bring the self-help housing program to urban areas.
  • In January 2005, Self-Help Homes moved to its new office in Provo, Utah.
  • In April 2007, Self-Help Homes completed its 100th home constructed in Utah County.
  • In July 2007, Self-Help Homes completed it first Urban Self-Help Housing project in Provo/Orem.
  • In May 2010, Self-Help Homes completed its 213th home constructed in Utah County.
  • In June 2010, Self-Help Homes opened up the Mutual Self-Help Housing program in Wasatch County with its first homes starting in Heber City.
  • In August 2012, Self-Help Homes begins marketing under the Self-Help Homes brand and logo.
  • In August 2012, Self-Help Homes surpassed 300 homes started with the Self-Help Homes program.
  • In August 2013, Self-Help Homes opened the Mutual Self-Help Housing program for the first time in Elk Ridge City.
  • In October 2014, Self-Help Homes contracted to do its first Low Income Housing Tax Credit Project; a 31-unit apartment complex for seniors (55 and older) in Springville called Cedar View Apartments.
  • In June 2016, Self-Help Homes opened up the Mutual Self-Help Housing program in Washington County with its first homes starting in LaVerkin and Toquerville .